Jazzkaar 2020 Festival brings Grammy-awarded jazz superstars to Estonia

31. October 2019

From 17 until 26 April 2020, the Tallinn International Festival Jazzkaar will delight jazz lovers with concerts by Grammy-awarded American stars, the vocal jazz legend Dee Dee Bridgewater, the trendsetter for the new generation, Cécile McLorin Salvant, guitar genius Marc Ribot with the band Ceramic Dog, as well as the magical Scandinavian super group, Rymden and Cyrille Aimée, a French woman who has risen to the starry sky of jazz vocalists. Tickets are available from 10 AM today at Piletilevi.


One of the main performers of Jazzkaar 2020 Festival will be the unique jazz singer Dee Dee Bridgewater, who has greatly influenced American vocal jazz music. Her creative journeys spanning from jazz to pop and chansons are always full of love and passion. She has won several major awards over the past five decades: two Grammy Awards, eight Grammy nominations and a Tony Award for her outstanding roles on Broadway. Dee Dee Bridgewater will perform at Jazzkaar with Estonian Dream Big Band led by Siim Aimla on 21 April at Alexela Concert Hall.


We are happy to welcome in Estonia for the first time Cécile McLorin Salvant, a new-generation star who has received three Grammy Awards. Her powerful character combines an intimate and soulful style of expression with interplay of elegance, sensuality and depth in her voice. Cécile McLorin Salvant is one of the most dazzling artists in contemporary vocal jazz, whose art is admired for its powerful vocal qualities, impeccable intonation and subtle sense of rhythm. Cécile McLorin Salvant will perform at Jazzkaar on 24 April at Vaba Lava.


Marc Ribot is one of the most original guitarists of our time. Winner of the Grammy award for the album “Rasing Sand” with Robert Plant. The uncompromising approach to music and Ribot’s characteristic style have made him one of the most recognizable guitarists, and the Ceramic Dog project is the best example of this. Marc Ribot’s Ceramic Dog is the band that has to be seen live. The band will perform first time in Estonia and at Jazzkaar on 23 April at Vaba Lava.


A fascinating trio formed by some of the best Scandinavian musicians, Rymden brings to Jazzkaar Nordic jazz that operates on the borders of drama and melancholic minimalism. The members of Rymden (meaning “space” – as in “outer space” or “universe”) are the Norwegian pianist and composer Bugge Wesseltoft with bassist Dan Berglund and drummer Magnus Öström from the trio of the legendary Swedish pianist Esbjörn Svensson. Having played together for less than a year, the group has already given more than 80 concerts at festivals in Europe and Asia as well as reputable concert venues. Rymden will perform at Jazzkaar on 25 April at Vaba Lava.


It sounds like a fairytale: as a young girl, Cyrille Aimée climbed through her bedroom window in her family house in Samois-sur-Seine to mingle with visitors to the annual Django Reinhardt Festival who were camping in her town. Now, Cyrille Aimée, a French woman who has garnered millions of listeners from Spotify and Youtube, has sung herself in a short time from European street cafes to the prestigious jazz festivals and the Broadway stage, is now making her first appearance in Estonia. Cyrille Aimée will perform at Jazzkaar on 22 April at Vaba Lava.


The 31st Tallinn International Festival Jazzkaar will take place from 17 to 26 April 2020 in different locations across Estonia. The full festival programme will be announced in early 2020 on Jazzkaar website www.jazzkaar.ee. Tickets to the concerts by Dee Dee Bridgewater & Estonian Dream Big Band, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Marc Ribot’s Ceramic Dog, Rymden and Cyrille Aimée will be available from October 31st at Piletilevi sales points and on their website www.piletilevi.ee.


The main sponsors of Jazzkaar 2020 are JURA, Jazz Pesulad and Eesti Päevaleht, and annual sponsors My City Hotel, BMW, Tallink and Aktaprint. The festival hub will be set up with the help of Telliskivi Creative City, Prike and NOBE. The festival is supported by the Ministry of Culture, the Cultural Endowment of Estonia, the City of Tallinn and Enterprise Estonia.