Jazzkaar introduces spring festival programme

13. February 2017

Tallinn International Festival Jazzkaar has released the full program for the 28th festival, taking place on April 21st – 30. For the third time the festival takes place in Telliskivi Creative City in Tallinn. In addition, concerts will take place in 11 towns across Estonia.


Jazzkaar 2017 is headlined by 5-time Grammy winner Dianne Reeves, drum legend Steve Gadd, club music duo GoGo Penguin, singer-bassist Meshell Ndegeocello and fusion-jazz group Spyro Gyra.


A special project is dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the international jazz festival Tallinn-67, which marked an important moment in the music life of Estonia and the Soviet Union in 1967. The event that reached the front page of New York Times featured the by now legendary Charles Lloyd Quartet. However, since the powers that be feared to impose a strong Western influence on the Soviet people, this festival was to be the last of the tradition that had begun in 1949. This year Tallinn-67 will be revitalised by pianist Tõnu Naissoo, who was 16 when he debuted in 1967. He will perform with his Unity Group and the star of Polish jazz, Zbigniew Namyslowski Quintet.


Jazzkaar celebrates the 100th anniversary of Ella Fitzgerald, the most influential jazz singer of all time. Liisi Koikson, Sofia Rubina, Susanna Aleksandra with Estonian Dream Big Band and Latvian Star Intars Busulis will interpret the legend’s song at the gala concert headed by Siim Aimla.


New Estonian music will be provided by Liisi Koikson who will present her new album “Coffee for One”; Kristjan Randalu’s international group Limes Occidentalis; Erki Pärnoja : Efterglow; Maria Faust with Kira Skov; Siiri Sisask and others.


European jazz in its variety is represented by the legendary Dutch drummer Han Bennink; German jazz innovator and trumpeter Sebastian Studnitzky; French quintet Papanosh; Spanish duo Isabel Vinardell & Isabelle Laudenbach with magical Mediterranean sounds; Danish trio the Firebirds who will focus on Igor Stravinski; German-Swiss minimalist piano-electro duo Grandbrothers; Silent Blast Quintet with a hint of future of Lithuanian jazz; and swing singer Alice Francis, with her roots in Romanian music.


Eastern patterns will be intervowen with jazz in the music of Armenian pianist Tigran Hamasyan. Oudi virtuoso Adnan Joubnan will mix Palestianian rhytms.


Jazzkaar club nights on Fridays and Saturdays will feature dancey tunes by GoGo Penguin (UK); I Wear* Experiment (Estonia); Kenton Slash Demon (Denmark); Yussef Kamaal (UK), Estrada Orchestra (Estonia), Yemen Blues (Israel) and Iyeoka (Nigeria-USA).


The festival main programme in Tallinn will feature:
Adnan Joubran Quintet; Alice Francis; Dianne Reeves; „Ella Fitzgerald 100” – Liisi Koikson, Sofia Rubina, Susanna Aleksandra, Intars Busulis & Estonian Dream Big Band; Erki Pärnoja : Efterglow; Estrada Orchestra; GoGo Penguin; Grandbrothers; Han Bennink feat. Jaak Sooäär, Laura Põldvere, Kadri Voorand; Holler My Dear; I Wear* Experiment; Isabel Vinardell & Isabelle Laudenbach; Iyeoka; Kenton Slash Demon; Kira Skov & Maria Faust; Kirke Karja Quintet; Kristjan Randalu Limes Occidentalis; Liisi Koikson & Band; Maarja Nuut; Mairo Marjamaa Quartet; Marie Vaigla & Raul Vaigla; Meshell Ndegeocello; 4 basses; Papanosh; The Firebirds; „Tribute to Tallinn-67“ Zbigniew Namyslowski Quintet & Tõnu Naissoo Unity; Sebastian Studnitzky Quartet; Siiri Sisask feat. Robert Jürjendal & Peedu Kass; Silent Blast Quintet; Spyro Gyra; Steve Gadd Gadd; Tanja Mihhailova & Band; Tigran Hamasyan; Toomas Rull Quartet; Yemen Blues; Yussef Kamaal.


Jazzkaar’s Gold Sponsor is Danske Bank. The festival’s main sponsors are KAFO, Jazz Pesulad and Eesti Päevaleht, yearly sponsors are My City Hotel, United Motors, Tallink and Aktaprint. The festival centre is supported by Prike and the Telliskivi Creative City, the cafe partner is Reval Café. Dianne Reeves will be brought to Estonia by Viru Keskus. The festival is supported by Kodupaber.


Jazzkaar is supported by the Ministry Of Culture, The Cultural Endowment of Estonia, Tallinn, Estonian Authors’ Society, Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Tallinn and the Polish Institute of Culture, Embassy of Israel, Embassy of Austria, Embassy of Spain, Goethe Institute in Estonia, the French Institute of Estonia, the Danish Institute of Culture and the Ministry of Science and Art of the Baden-Württemberg state.